Call to the Pen: Nationals Sign Dan Haren to One-Year, $13 Million Deal

haren_glasses

Please click this internet hyperlink to read the entire post over at Call to the Pen

Unnamed (eg: fake) sources are not reporting that the Nationals have shut down Dan Haren, and he will likely miss most, if not all of the 2013 season. Haren is said to be “not too happy” with the decision. No one reports that this was a joint decision between manager Davey Johnson, pitching coach Steve McCatty, and general manager Mike Rizzo. Johnson has been quoted as saying, “My job is to do what’s best for the player. And this is what’s best,” while Rizzo added, “This is a plan we put in place, this is just the culmination of that plan. I believe in my heart that it’s the right thing to do for the player and the right thing to do for the player is the right thing to do for the franchise.” The Nationals believe they are doing what is best for the long-term viability of their organization, as well as Haren’s health, but given Haren’s recent comments, the pitcher does not seem to be totally on board with the decision: “I don’t know if I’m ever gonna accept it to be honest,” Haren said of the plan to end his season prematurely. “It’s something that I’m not happy about at all. That’s not why I play the game. I play the game to be a good teammate and win.”

.

Tagged , , ,

COMMENT