I Do Not Care For More Wild Card Teams

All signs are pointing towards MLB adding two more wild card teams, even as soon as next season. I do not care for this. There are a number of reasons why, scenarios that will actually punish teams with better records rather than teams with worse records, chaos and injustice and and the like. Bad things. There’s no doubt that these extra wild card teams will make the post-season more exciting. Playoff baseball is exciting. I’m sure it will make a lot of people a lot of money and give hope to fans of teams who might otherwise not have hope. Those are all lovely things, but taken as a whole, this is a silly and shortsighted decision. Two more wild card teams just means more opportunities for bad teams to beat good teams. For bad teams to catch fire at the right time and win the World Series. Many people probably think this is awesome. They have a perspective on playoff baseball that I do not. I already had to live with the dichotomy of what playoff baseball represents—how fun it can be despite the dramas reliance on unfair small samples of games, and champions often times being decided on luck rather than talent and skill. The erosion of the meaning of the regular season. Baseball plays 162 games. That is a shitload. If one-third of the league is going to be allowed into a grab back of playoff hysteria to the detriment of teams who actually proved themselves convincingly over half the calender year, then color me unenthused. I really don’t have a new take on this issue, or a scathing indictment of MLB, or really much anger at all. Maybe I should change the name of this blog to the Trance of Not Being as Angry as I Though I Would Be. I’m just kind of annoyed, and bummed about it. But I’ll get over it. Especially if the Mariners make the playoffs due to this garbage.

Tagged , , ,

COMMENT

