Assorted Thoughts on Certain Players I Missed Out On During Last Night’s Fantasy Baseball Draft

I went into last night’s Fantasy Baseball Draft with a pretty good plan and grasp of what I wanted to do. I was slotted in the 11th spot of a 12 team league. I would have rather been in the middle of the draft, or even the start. The end of the order did not sit well with me. I improvised and made it work, though, because I’m hell of good at fake baseball. I’d give my overall draft performance an 8/10 but I feel like a 9 was well within my grasp. Pretty standard roto league with OBP and QS added for fun but who cares. Just about all of these players were selected one measly pick before mine. The humanity!

Round One: Joey Votto

I would have liked to select him with the 11th overall pick. I wasn’t too excited to leave the first two rounds without a first baseman but opted for Justin Upton instead of Prince Fielder. By doing this, and then taking Hanley Ramirez on the way back, I decided I would make a move for Eric Hosmer at the start of the 6th round. More on that very soon!

Round Five: Eric Hosmer

As the fifth round started I was feeling pretty awesome about my plan. My pet picks, Michael Bourn and Hosmer looked primed for availability when my turns came around and someone was going to have to reach to make an asshole out of me. Someone reached on Hosmer and sent my entire life into a goddamn tailspin. I got Bourn, but then opted for Brian McCann to start the sixth round. I don’t think I’ve ever taken a catcher that early ever and it felt very weird. I’m usually opposed to this kind of thing but McCann struck my as undervalued in Yahoo’s rankings and oh god Hosmer was gone.

Round Seven: Rickie Weeks

This one fucking hurt. I’d been taking Weeks in a ton of mock drafts and feeling awesome about his value at the end of the seventh/start of the eighth round. Risky, but worth it, I figured. He was selected one pick before mine and then I panicked and took Howie Fucking Kendrick. At the time, I immediately regretted it and wished I had waited 3 or 4 more rounds to snag Ackley instead. Then Ackley went really early and I felt a bit better. But still, Kendrick’s OBP is so dumb. Albert better teach him how to take a walk and then drive him in a lot of times.

Round Nine: David Ortiz

This one hurt about the same as the Weeks pick but I was way better prepared this time. I knew my buddy loved Ortiz and that there was a large probability of me missing out on him. He would have fit perfectly on my team, though, goddammit. I ended up with Ichiro in my UTIL spot instead and as a result my team is heavy on steals and light on power. This is something I will eventually rectify with my genius mastery of the art of the fantasy baseball trade. This marks the third time my plans had been foiled by the same drafted exactly one pick ahead of my. Needless to say, I like my buddy Ryan’s team quite a bit. Even if he is a total dick.

Round Thirteen: Shaun Marcum

He’s a weirdo with a hurt arm but I still like him. I ended up with Jordan Zimmermann instead, who I also like, so this is pretty unimportant. Why are you reading this unimportant section of the blog post?

Round Fifteen: Frank Francisco

I have a weird affinity for Franky Fran. I never pay for saves and as such, he ends up on my teams a lot either by late draft pick or waiver claim or both. Dude can strike fools out. I took Grant Balfour instead and who cares we’re talking about stupid closers.

Some Other Round: Johan Santana

I figured what the heck and was going to pick Johan just for the hell of it but then someone else did.

.

Tagged , , ,

COMMENT

