Ozzie Guillen: Baseball Manager, Incessent Drinker, Renaissance Man, Role Model

Ozzie Guillen is many things to many people. His multitudes astound. What he is not, however, is some irresponsible lout who airs his libatious shenanigans out on to public streets. He takes his way of life, and by extension, his alcoholism very seriously, and he practices it with prideful care. Thanks to this post over at Eye on Baseball, we now have a better idea as to what that kind of rigid service to ones craft entails. It entails routine, discipline, and a taste for the finer things in life:

I go to the hotel bar, get drunk, sleep. I don’t do anything else.

I get drunk because I’m happy we win or I get drunk because I’m very sad and disturbed because we lose.

Same routine, it never changes. It’s been the same routine for 25, 28 years.

I never get in trouble, you see that? I never leave the hotel. Nobody can call my wife and tell her they see Ozzie in this bar or place … I never get in trouble, I don’t go out.

Time and disposition permitting in the morning, Ozzie likes to play a round of golf and dine on a luncheon of sushi. The man knows what he likes, and he’s not here to change for anybody. Baseball, Alcohol, Golf, Sushi. In this world, there is nothing more, nothing less.

Tagged , , , ,

COMMENT

