Call to the Pen: Ozzie Smith Selling Some Things

I did a Google Image search for Ozzie Smith and he was so cool that I now feel sad and guilty for poking fun at his (assumed) financial difficulties.

Please click this internet hyperlink to read the entire post over at Call to the Pen

Were I a wealthy man, I would definitely be interested in some of this stuff. Charity? Philanthropy? Psh-aw. In this imagined alternate universe in which I possess many, many millions of dollars, no, I would spend it all on sports memorabilia. Maybe take one of those privately funded trips into space or something. Whatever. Ozzie Smith was one of the first baseball players I can remember being aware of. He was on a number of highlight videos I owned (VHS, baby) and he of course stuck out to me by way of his incredible defensive ability. Behind the back ball tosses, massive diving stops. He also may have done one of those cartwheel-somersault-back flip moves, I don’t remember. But it’s always really impressive when athletes bust that stuff out.

.

Tagged , , ,

COMMENT

